Coping with Death and Divorce

What Are Behavioral Health Approaches to Treating Life Changes?

At this challenging juncture of coping with death and divorce, you are not alone. Our dedicated team at Path Behavioral Healthcare is here to provide unwavering support and expert guidance. We understand the complex emotions and difficulties that come with these life-altering events. Let us help you find your path to healing and renewal with our compassionate, personalized services. Reach out to us for the support you need to navigate this journey with strength and resilience.

person talking to therapist

Grief Therapy Services at Path Behavioral Healthcare

Behavioral health treatment for dealing with death can involve several different approaches. One common approach is to work through the five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Other approaches may focus on coping mechanisms such as journaling, talking with a therapist, or attending support groups.

No matter what approach is used, it is important to remember that everyone grieves differently, and there is no right or wrong way to grieve. It is also important to remember that everyone has a different level of grieving depending on their own life experiences, mental health issues, coping abilities, and the relationship with the person who died.

The most important thing you can do when dealing with death is to take care of yourself. Do not put too much pressure on yourself to follow any specific approach or method.

Traditional “Stages” of Grief

The five stages of grief were developed by Elizabeth Kübler-Ross in 1969 to describe how people handle death and dying. The theory states that there are five stages that everyone goes through when they face a significant loss or impending loss, such as the death of a loved one. 

These stages aren't linear and can happen in any order or combination. Some people may experience one stage, while others move from one to the next without much time elapsing between them.

The stages are:

icon of depression


icon of anger


icon of confusion


icon of depression


icon of support


Accept that you will need time to grieve and may go through different emotions in varying stages for a prolonged period of time. Remember that your grief will not look the same as other people's grief, but it is just as valid. Moreover, do not judge yourself for how you grieve; there is no right or wrong way to feel.


When you first learn of a loved one's death, your mind may go into denial  , which is the first stage of grief. Denial   can be seen as a coping mechanism that helps people avoid feeling the full pain of the loss. During this time, you may feel like the death is a dream or that it is not really happening.

person with head in hands
person with fist clenched


Anger is often one of the first emotions people feel after a loved one's death. You may be angry at the person who died for leaving you, angry at God for allowing the death to happen, or angry at yourself for not preventing it. You may even be angry with other people who are still alive.

Anger is usually a secondary emotion that comes after denial has already started to fade. People often feel better once they have worked through their anger and feel comfortable expressing it. This doesn't necessarily mean you   have to act on your anger, but it is important to allow yourself to feel it.


The bargaining stage of grief usually happens after the anger fades. During this time, you may start to think about ways you could have prevented the death or ways you can bring the person back. You may also make deals with God or the universe in an attempt to postpone the death.

person holding hand to forehead
two women hugging


Many people experience depression after a loved one's death. You may feel like you can't go on without the person who died and that life is not worth living anymore. You may also feel a sense of guilt or regret over things you said or did (or didn't say or do) in the days leading up to the death.

Some people may feel depression for a long time after a loved one's death, while others may only experience it for a short period of time. If you are feeling depressed for an extended period of time, it is important to seek help from a therapist or counselor.


The final stage of grief is acceptance. This doesn't mean that you forget about the person who died or that the pain goes away. It simply means that you are able to live your life without being consumed by the death. You may still experience sadness and loss, but you are able to manage them and go on with your life.

woman looking out of window

People often feel a mixture of these stages but usually show two or three dominant ones.

It is important to remember that there is no right or wrong way to deal with death.  

Everyone handles grief in their own way, and everyone takes their own time to heal.  

There is no set period of time that you have to go through these stages, so don't be discouraged if you feel like you're not recovering as quickly as you think you should be. Contact one of our clinics to seek professional guidance.

As you come to understand the stages of grief, remember that your journey is uniquely yours. At Path Behavioral Healthcare, we're committed to supporting you every step of the way. If you're seeking a guiding hand to help you navigate through these times of loss and change, our compassionate team is here for you at locations across the country. Reach out to us, and let's explore together how you can move towards healing and rediscovering hope in your life. Your path to recovery and strength begins with us.